- Family Law
- Personal Injury
- Probate and Estate Planning
- Vehicle Accidents
- Real Estate
- Traffic Violations
Car accidents occur each day, ranging from minor to devastating, especially in a very populated state like New York. More than 12,000 people are hospitalized each year due to motor vehicle-related injuries, so it is important to understand what to do in the days following a car accident and how to receive compensation for your injuries, if possible.
What many people are unaware of is that any motor vehicle accident in New York must be reported to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) within 10 days of the accident if the damages that resulted exceed $1000 or if a person is harmed or killed. The following information is crucial to record and report at the time of the accident and can be completed by the individual, an insurance agent, or legal representative:
If an injury or death occurs as the result of a car accident, it is required by law that one of those involved in the crash notify the police. Further, leaving the scene of an accident that resulted in an injury or death is a crime in New York state. In other instances, one is required to notify police of any motor-vehicle related accident that causes damage to a parked car or other property or injury to a pet.
If you’ve been injured in a car accident, it is important to also keep records of your injuries. Things you should record and hold on to include:
Not only are these things important to keep note of for insurance, but they can also be used as evidence if you decide to file a personal injury suit. If you have been injured in an accident and are considering filing a personal injury lawsuit, contact an experienced attorney. The personal injury lawyers at Goldberg Sager & Associates will fight for the compensation you deserve. For more information or to schedule a consultation, call 718-514-9516.